Have a spooky Halloween

For his first Halloween, Griffin is dressing up as a bear. (!!) I’m so excited. I really want to take a video of him crawling around on the floor, making his “rawr” noises. I also can’t wait for trick-or-treaters tonight. It’s our first Halloween in the Highlands and I’m curious how many people stop by. In the meantime…I thought I’d share some great Halloween links:

This story: The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, by Washington Irving, is my all-time favorite spooky story. Remember the first time you heard about the headless horseman? I still get chills when I think about walking alone on a dark fall evening…

This song: Danse Macabre, by the composer Camille Saint Saens. The idea of skeletons getting to come out of the ground and cavort around is fantastic.

These costume ideas: If you’re scrambling at the last minute, Oh Happy Day has some wonderful children’s costume plans. Isn’t this cloud one adorable?

(Vintage poster picture from the Hamilton Wood Type Museum.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Pieces

Leave a Reply

